June 2022 TBR

Hi hello there, happy Monday! I’m breaking my months – long hiatus to bring you what will probably be a cursed TBR (if my “currently reading” tab on Goodreads is any indication, this is most likely where all of my good reading intentions go to die).

Library Loans

In the last two weeks, my local library has switched over their Ebook & Audiobook selection to Libby, and I could not be more thrilled with this!! It runs quite a bit smoothly compared to their old software/app, and I have hope that I may actually *read* the books that I’m checking out. (I just had a birthday so I’m very big on the “New Year New Me” vibes).

The Ex Hex by Erin Sterling – 354 Pages, EBook/Audiobook

I have yet to actually finish reading a novel in the “solidly romance” category but this looks cute, is relatively short and a nice distraction from our world that’s currently on fire right now đŸ™‚ I am 40 pages in and enjoying it so far–I see why it was popular when it released last fall! I am predicting this will be a 3 star read for me *at least*. Something something, a gal accidentally-on-purpose casts a curse onto her ex boyfriend & fellow witch at the young age of nineteen and they have a meet-cute nine years later where more shenanigans ensue. So far so good! (It really is *so* cute.)

Anatomy: A Love Story by Dana Schwartz – 391 Pages, EBook

This has been one of my most anticipated releases this year, and yet it’s been *checks notes* six(ish) months since it debuted; I have also checked this out from the library at least 3 other times before & not had the attention span for it (I think it’s kinda like that way that anticipations build up so much that I can’t make myself read it yet so I don’t get disappointed, if that makes sense?) Regardless, I am excited to *eventually* get to this one. I absolutely love Dana’s podcast Noble Blood, and I can’t wait to see her wit, intelligence and overall charm translated onto the page!

I know nothing about this other than “gravedigger” and “ladies in STEM” That’s more than enough for me to know I’ll love it!

The Agathas by Kathleen Glasgow & Liz Lawson – 542 Pages, EBook

This right here is probably the exact reason that I need to be on a “no buy” right now–this a total impulse-lend for me of which I know nothing else about. I have not really heard anyone talking about this other than Olivia from Olivia Reads A Latte (I’m a way into booktube right now, having so much fun!)

Olivia likes books/reality TV surrounding what she likes to call “Rich People Drama” and honestly….SAME. (I’ve got 99 problems and sadly too much money ain’t one). I don’t know that this necessarily fits into that category of RPD, but from what she’s said it kind of sounds like a couple of bored rich teenagers getting into trouble and what is life if you can’t judge fictional characters, am I right? What is life if you can’t read about horrible bratty humans and tell yourself “at least I’m not *that* awful!!”

(I’ll quit while I’m ahead here)

(Also jokes on me if this is supposed to be anything like The Heathers because that movie is too absolutely bonkers insane & uncomfortable for me how is that considered a “Dark Comedy” can somebody please explain).

(Also how did I miss the 500+ page count before now lol I might be in trouble.)

Jokes aside, I am genuinely excited to give this book a shot; I have never read anything by these authors and I can’t wait to see how it all plays out! I love a good whodunnit.

Physical TBR

Earlier in the year, I made an effort to figure out just how many physically-owned books I have not read which, in a surprise to literally no one, happens to be a whole heck of a lot. (Pretty sure there’s an entire post dedicated to this venture in my Word Press “Drafts” graveyard.) Some six months later and I’ve completed maybe two?? books on that list. My goal moving forward is to try and incorporate at least two physical books in my TBR each month, in the hopes that I’ll at least read one of them! (What can I say, sometimes I’ve gotta be real with myself.)

House of Sky & Breath by Sarah J. Maas – 805 pages

I read House of Earth and Blood last summer and absolutely loved it–but there is just so much to this world that it’s been a bit of a struggle to get started on this one. I have stubbornly decided to not re-read HOEAB before jumping in, as my attention span can only take so much re-hashing in book two after a fresh re-read.

However, in a cruel twist of “I didn’t see that coming except I totally did”, while Sky & Breathe does a pretty good job of revisiting the important stuff in the first 50 pages, it is almost comical how lost I am due to how dense the world-building is, and how many characters there are, and also just how many made-up words and lingo there is; I feel like an alien on my own planet!! haha.

Regardless, I’m having a good time even if I’m having to google names and characters every 3 sentences. (The amount of fanart for this series is just unreal, by the way.)

Last, but certainly not least–

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black – 370 Pages

I absolutely adore Holly Black, and have loved pretty much any book of hers that I’ve picked up. I recently read her newest release, Book of Night and can confidently say that I am back on my Holly Black obsession (More on that later though, because a raving book review will be coming I can promise you that and also I’ve never really not been obsessing over Holly’s work, so).

The Cruel Prince series is one that I’ve tried to hold out on reading up to now, simply because of all the hype surrounding it (Well deserved, I’m sure.) I am determined to finish out the series this year, if I can help it! So, fingers crossed, I’m adding this on to the back of my TBR pile this month and will continue to do so in the following months in an effort to get it done!

Stats

  • 5 Books total
  • 3 Ebooks & 2 Hardcovers
  • 2 Adult Fantasy/Romance
  • 1 YA Fantasy
  • 1 YA Historical Fiction
  • 1 YA Mystery/Thriller
  • 2,462 pages total Send Help

That’s that on that!

What’s on your TBR this month?

Until next time,

-Lux

Leave a comment