Book Review: Divine Rivals, by Rebecca Ross

“But I realize that people are just people, and they carry their own set of fears, dreams, desires, pains, and mistakes. I can’t expect someone else to make me feel complete; I must find it on my own.”

2.5 Stars

This really hurts me to say–but Divine Rivals was a bit of a miss for me 😦 Make no mistake, the writing is absolutely gorgeous and atmospheric; I wanted to love it so much! Unfortunately, it was a lot of atmosphere & anticipation with very little reward for anything outside of the love story.

The most fleshed-out aspect of the book was the love story unfolding between our “Enemies Rivals to Lovers” main characters, and that in itself was beautiful. However, I found myself frustrated and bored with the lack of outward-moving plot beyond that.. I had at one point made it 55% into this book and nothing had really “happened” if that makes sense; we see a lot of personal development and things happening in Iris’s life, but this slow-burn, character-driven story is set in a high-stakes fantasy world that the main characters don’t seem to have much to do with at all, and I can’t decide how I feel about it.

I think that Ross really could have left all the big, important world-building material out altogether; most of the time I felt like “Why aren’t we talking about THAT” and it gave me a sense of missing out. Additionally, I felt that the snippets of mythology/worldbuilding were grand and exciting, ultimately to lead nowhere; with how little this aspect was explored, I felt more like I was reading historical fiction of WWI.

This wasn’t for me, but I so appreciate the care and research that went into this story, and the depth of emotion portrayed surrounding war and all of its innocent victims.

Leave a comment